Feeling Old

From my notes on July 7, 2016, while on holiday in Bad Gastein, Austria

I am feeling old today:

  • The knees are going
  • Short-term memory lapses
  • Irritability over minor inconveniences
  • Despair over the decline in culture

On the other hand:

  • A feeling of comradeship with people my age
  • An appreciation of the connectedness of all things
  • The acceptance of minor miracles as part of everyday life (e.g., Jung’s synchronicity)
  • Birdsong, flowers, trees
  • The immensity of the Earth
2 thoughts on “Feeling Old

  1. Dear Ron, it seemed I felt your emotions when you were writing your post….The positive “list” was longer than the “feeling old list”….I am sure, it could have been even longer. The beauty of life lies within us, at all times, no matter the circumstances.
    ….and those stairs looked like a real challenge for the older knee…..
    Hugs, Sabine

    • Dear Sabine,
      How wonderful to hear from you. Perhaps we could stay in touch. I was a bit depressed when I wrote this little thing, but it was real and I want not to hide behind what I ‘ought’ to feel. I was then having a hard time with the knee I injured last year in Alaska, while stupidly walking up and back a very steep slope with no walking stick. Eva and I were in the Austrian Alps when I wrote this, and I was unable to accompany her on a few of the group hikes. I had a good time, nonetheless. I still have the problem, but am addressing it with the help of the medicos and therpists, if I can get them to pay closed attention. I refuse to be an old person who will be easily dismissed.
      Love,
      Ron

Leave a Reply

